March 11, 2020 11AM PT | 1PM CT | 2PM ET

How to Tune Servo Systems (Part 1)

Attendees are eligible for a certificate of completion.

Among the most troubling tasks in machine building can be tuning the servo system to meet or exceed the performance specification. Invariably, we have all sat at the machine and asked ourselves, “What three numbers should I put in this proportional-integrated-derivative (PID) controller?” However, when tuning, it is not always about the PID gains. Many other factors affect the tuning and can be changed to improve the machine performance. This webcast will discuss aspects of controller design, including control loop structures, controller characteristics and using frequency-based tools for gain selection and machine characterization. This will be presented in two parts.

Part one will focus on the fundamental concept of using the frequency domain to tune a servo system. It will cover basic definitions, gain and phase margins, etc., and provide some simple examples of using notch and low-pass filters.

Presenter Joseph Profeta, who has nearly three decades of experience working on challenging automation solutions for a variety of industries, will explain the steps he takes to optimize the performance of motion systems.


Learning objectives:

  • Define the considerations of what is to be controlled (i.e. the plant)
  • Understand how to apply frequency-based tools for tuning
  • Understand how to use notch and low-pass filters
  • Understand the effects of sample time, damping and bandwidth on system performance.

Presented By:
Joseph Profeta, Ph.D., Director, Control Systems Group, Aerotech

Moderated By:
Mark Hoske, Content Manager, CFE Media & Technology

Meet Our Sponsors