July 24, 2024 11AM PT | 1PM CT | 2PM ET

Motors and drives: Understand how predictive maintenance can save a plant

1 Certified Professional Development Hour (PDH) available upon successful completion of an exam.

Maintenance of motors and drives comes in many forms. Preventive, predictive and corrective maintenance plans may all be used in an industrial or manufacturing facility. Maintenance, repair and overhaul (MRO) is frequently handled by teams within the facility. Functions within this area include replacing, adjusting and repairing elements of a machine or system so that it can properly perform its required functions.

Which type of maintenance is right for you?

Preventive maintenance is a routine for periodically inspecting and servicing equipment. This is typical in most plants, and is readily understood. Predictive maintenance (PdM) technology is becoming increasingly important for businesses that rely on rotating equipment such as motors, pumps and fans. PdM relies on smart devices to avoid costly unplanned downtime, increase productivity and safety and improve the return on investment for their maintenance programs.


Learning objectives:

  • Learn about the risks and costs associated with unplanned downtime due to equipment failure.
  • Understand the different types of motor and drive maintenance, and their associated challenges.
  • Understand internet of things-based predictive condition monitoring for maintenance programs.
  • Review a plan in which preventive or predictive maintenance was implemented.

Presented By:
Randy Heisler, Vice President, Life Cycle Engineering
Ed Garibian, CEO, LLumin

Moderated By:
Amara Rozgus, Content Manager, WTWH Media

Meet Our Sponsors