July 16, 2024 11AM PT | 1PM CT | 2PM ET

SCADA: Incremental upgrades or replacements? Ask these questions for best results

1 CERTIFIED PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT HOUR (PDH) AVAILABLE UPON SUCCESSFUL COMPLETION OF AN EXAM

Supervisory control and data acquisition software platforms can be incrementally upgraded or replaced with new SCADA software or other platforms after outdated. When making incremental SCADA upgrades, are capability reviews being conducted to investigate and integrate new available functions? Can incremental improvements be worked into regulated environments without recertification, and, if not, how do you determine if recertification costs are worth next-generation benefits? Should an application wait for a completely new installation to gain advantages? What are considered best practices for SCADA upgrades or replacements?


Learning objectives:

  • Understand benefits of incremental SCADA upgrades over time versus waiting many years before new software features are implemented.
  • Explore SCADA upgrades in regulated environments, what changes be made without recertification and when advances merit recertification.
  • Look at example implementations for SCADA upgrades or replacements and the resulting benefits.

Presented By:
Jason Israelsen, PE, Senior Control Engineer, APCO, Inc.
Joseph Mazzola, General Manager, McEnery Automation

Moderated By:
Mark Hoske, Content Manager, Control Engineering

Meet Our Sponsors