March 3, 2020 11AM PT | 1PM CT | 2PM ET

Troubleshooting techniques for AC induction motors

Understand the relevant parameters and how to hone in problems

One (1) Certified Professional Development Hour (PDH) available for all attendees.

Three-phase alternating current (AC) induction motors do not last forever.

Over their operating lives, the majority of AC induction motors will exhibit common problems. Therefore, being familiar with general troubleshooting techniques is important.
To start, it’s vital to understand the operating parameters and forces acting against a motor; to perform tests and make observations based on those parameters; and to remove system components to isolate a problem.

This webcast will specify and analyze the various troubleshooting operating parameters to consider and outline what equipment is needed to identify solutions.


Learning objectives:

  • Identify the most common issues associated with troubleshooting AC induction motors
  • Specify common monitoring points for assessing AC induction motor performance
  • Review common induction motor maintenance procedures
  • Learn what it takes to get optimum, long-term performance from AC induction motors.

Presented By:
Michael Lyda, PE, Motor and Drive Engineer, Advanced Energy Corporation
Ronnie Alford, Motor Lab Coordinator, Advanced Energy Corporation

Moderated By:
Kevin Parker, Content Manager, CFE Media & Technology

Meet Our Sponsors