October 1, 2019 11AM PT | 1PM CT | 2PM ET

VFD Configuration and Troubleshooting with a Smartphone: 10 Tips, 3 Applications, and a Demo

Attendees are eligible for a certificate of completion.

Set-up up and troubleshooting of variable frequency drives (VFDs) includes specific challenges; smartphone apps and wireless technology can help. VFDs improve energy efficiency and motor performance in a wide variety of industrial applications.
Start-up, maintenance and troubleshooting challenges for VFDs include the following and more:

  • Small button-controlled interfaces and limited low-res screens that make programming difficult
  • Restricted, difficult or inconvenient physical access to the VFD
  • Harsh environments not suitable for typical laptops
  • Time consuming lockout tag-out procedures
  • Safety risk when opening a high-voltage electrical and controls enclosures
  • Inability to program the VFD prior to installation
  • Learning curve related to understanding new VFDs or different VFD keypad HMI’s
  • Missing product instructions that can make post start-up work on the VFDs more difficult
  • Facilities often lack parameter management for many installed VFDs.

Learning objectives:

  • Examine challenges with VFD set up, configuration and troubleshooting and provide 10 tips on how to resolve those with smartphone apps and Bluetooth wireless technology.
  • Overview of 3 common VFD applications and related benefits of smartphone app via wireless and wired VFD configuration: Mining, Distributor or value added reseller and Textile manufacturing (small and large firms)
  • Learn what to look for to future-proof your next VFD purchase

Presented By:
Michael Hall, Product Manager for Mobile Applications and Technical Communications, Yaskawa America, Inc.

Moderated By:
Mark Hoske, Content Manager, CFE Media & Technology

#DriveWizardMobile

Meet Our Sponsors